Category: DEFAULT

Video Killed The Radio Star - Buggles* - The Age Of Plastic

Sunday 8 December Monday 9 December Tuesday 10 December Wednesday 11 December Thursday 12 December Friday 13 December Saturday 14 December Sunday 15 December Monday 16 December Tuesday 17 December Wednesday 18 December Thursday 19 December Friday 20 December Saturday 21 December Sunday 22 December Monday 23 December Tuesday 24 December Wednesday 25 December Thursday 26 December Friday 27 December Saturday 28 December Sunday 29 December Monday 30 December Tuesday 31 December Wednesday 1 January Thursday 2 January Friday 3 January Saturday 4 January Sunday 5 January Monday 6 January Tuesday 7 January Wednesday 8 January Thursday 9 January Friday 10 January Saturday 11 January Sunday 12 January Monday 13 January Tuesday 14 January Wednesday 15 January Thursday 16 January Friday 17 January Saturday 18 January Sunday 19 January Monday 20 January Downes claims to have used George Shearing 's "technique of doubling melody lines in block chords using the 5th note Both of the Buggles' albums have received positive reception from music critics.

The Trouser Press called both albums "technically stunning, reasonably catchy and crashingly hollow," [31] while AllMusic 's Jeri Montesano said that, compared to s pop music , they "still sound fresh". Downes remains a member of Asia today, being the only member to have stayed with the group since its beginning.

Parallel to Asia, he also worked on other projects, including several solo albums and production of acts such as GTR. In , Downes rejoined Yes as their keyboardist, working once again alongside Horn on the Fly from Here album and accompanying tour.

Horn embarked on a highly successful career as a record producer, achieving success with the bands ABC , Dollar , Frankie Goes to Hollywood , Art of Noise , and even the albums and Big Generator from a re-formed Yes, with Jon Anderson back on vocals. He is currently working with his new band, the Producers , who released the album Made in Basing Street in Both Asia and Producers have played "Video Killed the Radio Star" as part of their live set in tribute to their members' origins in the Buggles.

Following discussions with Chris Squire, Horn produced the Yes album Fly from Here , the bulk of whose forty-seven-minute duration comprises unused or incomplete Buggles material from the early s particularly "We Can Fly from Here" , reminiscent of the use of the Buggles' I am a Camera for "Into the Lens" on Drama during their first stint in He thus insisted that Downes play keyboards on the album replacing Oliver Wakeman, son of Rick Wakeman and Horn himself played and sang backing vocals on the album.

The album's group photograph prominently features Horn standing centre, signifying that to all intents he was considered the sixth band member for the recording. The Fly From Here tour did not feature Horn. The single was released on Gramophone Records, along with a music video featuring musician and producer Thomas Dolby and Wolfgang Wild of Retronaut fame. On 8 March , Horn posted an announcement on his official Facebook page, [38] linking to an article on theatre website Broadway World that Horn, Downes and Woolley were working together on a musical provisionally entitled The Robot Sings.

Ballard , Brian Aldiss and Isaac Asimov , the stage show will tell the story of a boy called Jay trying to save his robot companion. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. English New Wave band. Not to be confused with The Bangles. New wave [1] synth-pop [2] art pop [3] progressive pop [4]. Island Carrere ZTT [5]. Introspection Late Night Partying. Rainy Day Relaxation Road Trip. Romantic Evening Sex All Themes. Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts.

Styles New Wave Synth Pop. Hanging Out Imagination Playful. Retrieved 1 July Hung Medien. Archived from the original on 23 June Original Confidence.

Retrieved 7 October Trouser Press. Retrieved 21 July The Canberra Times. Fairfax Media. Retrieved 28 December Retrieved 17 February The Virgin encyclopedia of eighties music.

Virgin Books. Adventures in Modern Recording. Retrieved 20 February The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction. Retrieved 26 April Retrieved 1 November Metro Pulse. Scripps Company. Archived from the original on 27 April The Quietus. Retrieved 5 October Daily Mirror. Archived from the original on 5 October The Guardian. Why are Justice, Phoenix and Daft Punk so in love with soft rock? Views Read Edit View history. By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Mike Hurst. Problems playing this file? See media help. Weekly charts [ edit ] Year Chart Peak position — Australia Kent Music Report [71]. Belgium Ultratop 50 Flanders [34]. Europe Eurochart Hot [72]. France IFOP [26].

Germany Official German Charts [32]. Ireland IRMA [29]. Italy FIMI [25]. Japan Oricon International Chart [73]. Japan Oricon Singles Chart [73]. Netherlands Dutch Top 40 [36]. Netherlands Single Top [35]. South Africa Springbok Radio [74].

Spain AFE [27]. Sweden Sverigetopplistan [30]. Switzerland Schweizer Hitparade [31]. US Billboard Hot [37]. US Cash Box [38]. France SNEP [75]. Year-end charts [ edit ] Year Chart Position Australia Kent Music Report [76]. Belgium Ultratop 50 Flanders [77]. France IFOP [78]. Australia Kent Music Report [79]. Germany Media Control Charts [82]. Top 20 One Hit Wonders [87].

The Top British Number 1 Singles [88]. Les Inrockuptibles. Best Song Titles Ever [90]. Top 10 MTV Moments [92]. Hottest of All Time [94]. Top 10 Groundbreaking Videos [96]. All accolades are adapted from Acclaimed Music , [98] except if cited by an additional source.

The Age of Plastic The Buggles Rock ; Listen on Apple Music. Listen on Apple Music. Preview. TITLE TIME; 1 Living in the Plastic Age 2 Video Killed the Radio Star Video Killed the Radio Star / Kid Dynamo - Single 60 million songs. Three months on us. Start your free trial * Learn more.

6 thoughts on “Video Killed The Radio Star - Buggles* - The Age Of Plastic ”

  1. The Buggles are an English new wave band formed in London in by singer and bassist Trevor Horn and keyboardist Geoffrey dakrmo.daizahnishndarmeztizuru.infoinfo are best known for debut single "Video Killed the Radio Star", which topped the UK Singles Chart and reached number one in 15 other dakrmo.daizahnishndarmeztizuru.infoinfo duo released their first album, The Age of Plastic, in January with "Video Killed the Radio Star" as Genres: New wave, synth-pop, art pop, progressive pop.
  2. The Age of Plastic Buggles. Video Killed the Radio Star Lyrics. K 3. Kid Dynamo Lyrics. 4. I Love You (Miss Robot and The Age of Plastic, named after the concerning use of credit cards.
  3. May 31,  · "The Age of Plastic" (11 tracks, includind 3 bonus tracks; 48 min.) plays like a trip back in time, and plays surprisingly well, frankly. The album starts off with "The Plastic Age", an epic 5 min. track that expands on the sound of the "Video" tune. The original album only had 8 tracks, 4 on each side, and was a quick listen/5(52).
  4. Nov 04,  · Buggles* The Age Of Plastic Pure unadulterated Techno-pop tho I loath Video Killed The Radio Star, Elstree and Astroboy are melodically enriched movies for the ears! Trevor, Wooley and Downes a trio that made 80s musical history for a reason great song writing! /5().
  5. The fun, quirky single "Video Killed the Radio Star" garnered The Buggles international attention in , but it was just one of The Age of Plastic's fascinating, futuristic visions. From the title track's opening strains, Trevor Horn and Geoff Downes transform your living room into a world of Jetson-like proportions. It's a world, though, where technology is seen for what it is -- full of 9/
  6. The Buggles' sound was characterised by a deliberately synthetic quality in keeping with the technological subject matter of their songs. The group had a smash hit with the first single from their debut album, 'The Age of Plastic'. Song "Video Killed The Radio star" famously provided the 1st music video ever played on MTV (on August 1,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *